2017 Order of Nova Scotia Recipients Announced

NOTE: Full biographies and photos of the recipients are available at www.novascotia.ca/orderofnovascotia .

Five respected Nova Scotians who have made outstanding contributions to their province’s culture and people will be invested into the Order of Nova Scotia this fall.

Lt.-Gov. Arthur J. LeBlanc, Chancellor of the Order of Nova Scotia, made the announcement today, Oct. 13.

“On behalf of The Queen and all Nova Scotians, it is a great pleasure to extend my sincere thanks and congratulations to the 2017 appointees to the Order of Nova Scotia,” said Lt.-Gov. LeBlanc. “Those who are appointed to our province’s highest honour have committed themselves to a lifetime of excellence and their extraordinary acts and achievements have benefitted their fellow Nova Scotians and Canadians.”

The 2017 recipients of the Order of Nova Scotia are:

— Bradford J. Barton, Dartmouth: Brad Barton is a devoted educator who pioneered integration of Nova Scotia schools and created the foundation for inclusion of African Nova Scotian learners, educators and curriculum. He has worked throughout his life in the pursuit of positive race relations, cross-cultural understanding and human rights. Mr. Barton is also an internationally recognized sports official, having given over 50 years of service as a coach, referee and mentor.

— Geraldine Marjorie Browning, Centreville, Kings Co.: Gerri Browning used her early struggles against systemic racism to fuel her work as an advocate and community builder. She is a founding member of the Black Business Initiative, the Black Cultural Society, and the Valley African Nova Scotia Development Association. Mrs. B, as she is widely known, advocates for the protection of women and children from violence and abuse, promotes literacy and education, and visits schools to share her experiences with young Nova Scotians.

— R. Irene d’Entremont, Yarmouth: Irene d’Entremont is a leader in entrepreneurship and community development who has a passion for promoting Nova Scotia as a great place to live. She has spent over 40 years in business, with a focus on tourism, culture and economic development. She has served on a variety of local, provincial and national boards and commissions, and is currently the vice-chair of the American Chamber of Commerce in Atlantic Canada and director of the Yarmouth Hospital Foundation. Ms. d’Entremont served as a commissioner for the One Nova Scotia Commission and is the current chair of Tourism Nova Scotia.

— Raymond Edmund Ivany, Wolfville: Ray Ivany has spent his career focused on higher education and public policy, and on making Nova Scotia a place where we can all prosper. He is known internationally as an innovator, having transformed the Nova Scotia Community College into a national leader in applied post-secondary education and elevating Acadia University into one of Canada’s leading primarily undergraduate universities. Mr. Ivany had advised governments on a variety of public policy areas and authored the One Nova Scotia Commission’s report.

— Peter J. M. Nicholson, Annapolis Royal: Peter Nicholson has been a force for policy changes in fisheries, third-world debt, national economic policy and science and technology. He helped set out principles that govern the Canadian fishery, proposed a resolution to the Latin American debt crisis of the late-1980s, and served as deputy chief of staff in the prime minister’s office. Mr. Nicholson has a long list of volunteer service in the fields of science and technology, and is a leading voice for innovation and science and economic policy in Canada.

The 2017 recipients will be recognized at the 16th investiture ceremony on Nov. 7, at Province House in Halifax.

The Order of Nova Scotia was established in June 2001 and is the highest honour bestowed by the province. Since it was created, 87 recipients have been invested into the Order. Recipients have the right to use the post-nominals O.N.S. after their names.

Source: Release

Weekly Traffic Advisories

Premier Congratulates Order of Nova Scotia Recipients