Awards Recognize Paramedics for Exceptional Service

Seventeen Nova Scotia paramedics were awarded the Exemplary Services Medal today, Wednesday, Sept. 23, for their hard work helping Nova Scotians when they are most in need.

Each of the recipients has dedicated his or her career to providing high-quality emergency care, sometimes at great personal risk.

Lt.-Gov. J.J. Grant presented the medals during a ceremony at Government House in Halifax.

“Paramedics are highly skilled, caring professionals who think about others before they consider their own comfort and safety,” said Lt.-Gov. Grant. “Nova Scotia is well-served by the example set by those honoured today and it is my privilege, on behalf of the Crown, to recognize their outstanding service to the people of our province.”

Medal recipients:
— Dale Bartlett, Truro, Colchester Co.
— Cpl. Jeffrey Bezanson, Springhill, Cumberland Co.
— Paul Blake, Yarmouth
— Kevin Boudreau, Arichat, Richmond Co.
— Bruce Cox, Bedford, HRM
— Paul Gouthro, Sydney Mines, CBRM
— Jonathan Humes, Lower Sackville, HRM
— Patrick Kline, Halifax
— Dale Langille, Amherst, Cumberland Co.
— Thomas MacLean, Glace Bay, CBRM
— Peter MacPherson, Mahone Bay, Lunenburg Co.
— Paula Martell, Halifax
— Joe Muise, Cheticamp, Inverness Co.
— Victor Murphy, North River, Colchester Co.
— Dawn Nickerson, Fletcher’s Lake, HRM
— Mark Wheatley, Brookside, HRM
— Keith Wilcox, Glace Bay, CBRM

“Nova Scotian paramedics are well-trained, caring professionals, ready to put themselves at risk to help others,” said Kevin McNamara, deputy minister of the department of Health and Wellness. “I’d like to thank today’s medal recipients, along with all of our paramedics, for the exceptional work they do every day to keep Nova Scotians safe and healthy. Paramedics are truly a vital part of our health-care system.”

The Emergency Health Services Exemplary Service Medal was created in 1994. It is part of a national recognition program for people who work in high-risk jobs that enhance Canada’s public safety.

In addition to paramedics, police, firefighters, corrections officers, coast guard members and peace officers are also eligible for exemplary service medals.

Paramedics must be nominated by their peers or the public. Recipients must have demonstrated exemplary service in their careers for at least 20 years, including 10 years in an emergency medical services position that involves potential risk.

For more information on the awards, visit

Source: Release

Fashion Sads: Personalized Style

Sichem Melbourne