Canadian Booksellers Association – CBA Libris Awards.

CBA Libris Awards shortlist have been announced. From the Canadian Booksellers Association website: “Unique in their commitment to acknowledging the best among the chain of talented professionals who deliver great books to Canadian readers, and nominated and voted on by members of the Canadian bookselling community, CBA Libris Awards honour outstanding achievement by authors and editors, sales reps and distributors, booksellers and publishers.”

Fiction Book of the Year
The Bishop’s Man by Linden MacIntyre
Galore by Michael Crummey
The Golden Mean by Annabel Lyon

Nonfiction Book of the Year
A Soldier First: Bullets Bureaucrats and the Politics of War by Rick Hillier
Just Watch Me: The Life of Pierre Elliott Trudeau 1968-2000 by John English
Playing With Fire: The Highest Highs and Lowest L
ows of Theo Fleury by Theo Fleury
The Wayfinders: Why Ancient Wisdom Matters in the Modern World by Wade Davis

Halifax’s own Bookmark II has been nominated for Bookseller of the Year and Woozles Ltd for Specialty Bookseller of the Year. Winners will be announced on May 29.

Surfing Association of Nova Scotia new logo

Nor’Easter Surf Contest on Sunday at Lawrencetown

Cheryl Cook: East Coast by choice