11:58 am - Thursday, July 19 2018
Home / News / Commission on Inclusive Education Named

Commission on Inclusive Education Named

NOTE: Biographical information about the three commission members follows this release.

Three experts who will examine the model of inclusive education in Nova Scotia have been chosen for the Commission on Inclusive Education.

Education and Early Childhood Development Minister Karen Casey announced the commission members today, March 24. They are:
–Dr. Sarah Shea, independent chair, co-appointed by government and the Nova Scotia Teachers Union
–Monica Williams, appointed by government
–Adela Njie, appointed by the Nova Scotia Teachers Union

Ms. Williams and Ms. Njie will begin their work immediately. Dr. Shea will join the commission by June 1.

“The work of this commission, along with the Council to Improve Classroom Conditions, is the direct result of what we have heard from teachers and parents – that changes are needed,” said Ms. Casey. “This is another example of our commitment to work with teachers and other experts to improve classrooms. We must ensure the right supports are in place for all students in our classrooms. This expert panel will examine our current approach and compare it to best practices elsewhere.”

The commission will examine the model of inclusion for students. It will review current practice and policy and develop a plan that will include recommendations on improvements and goals. The recommendations will address funding, resources, professional development, and improving teaching and learning conditions.

It will engage front-line teachers, parents, students, and associations, and review best practices across Canada.

The commission will issue an interim report by June 30 with a final report within one year of its appointment.

Source: Release

About Haligonia Editors

See news happening near you? Tell us. Click here to email our team.


The views and opinions expressed in this content are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of haligonia.ca.

You might also like...


Police are investigating armed robbery at a Bedford dispensary

At approx. 8:44 p.m. officers responded to a report of a robbery at the Green...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *