9:02 pm - Friday, July 20 2018
Home / Archives / Scotia Surfer / East Coast surfers invited to WQS wildcard contest

This content is from our archive. It may be outdated, inaccurate or missing media.


O'Neill Coldwater Classic logo

East Coast surfers invited to WQS wildcard contest

O'Neill Coldwater Classic logoThe Canadian Surfing Association (CSA) has released the list of East Coast surfers who have been invited to compete for one of the two wildcard spots set aside for Canadian surfers in the upcoming O’Neill Coldwater Classic in Tofino, B.C. in October.

The O’Neill Coldwater Classic is a World Qualifying Series (WQS) event run by the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP), the foremost governing body in professional surfing. Rated a 6 Star event, the O’Neill Coldwater Classic has prize money totalling $145,000.

The Coldwater Classic will be the first professional ASP surf event ever held in Canada and will feature more than 140 professional surfers from around the world.

The East Coast surfers invited to compete for a wildcard spot are as follows (in alphabetical order):

  • Myles Baldwin
  • Sam Cote
  • Neal Durling
  • Ben Emodi
  • Steve Foley
  • Roman Hasiuk
  • Matt Healy
  • Marty King
  • Logan Landry
  • Nico Manos
  • Lance Moore
  • JD Paterson

The wildcard contest for Canadians will be held in Tofino on October 23 and 24. The winners will then compete in the main event, which is scheduled to start on October 25.

About Haligonia.ca

See news happening near you? Tell us. Click here to email our team.


The views and opinions expressed in this content are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of haligonia.ca.

You might also like...


Photo of the Day: Storm’s Aftermath

An inviting wave courtesy of a recent winter storm. Photo by Joel...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *