Individuals, Organizations Honoured with Crime Prevention Awards

The province paid tribute to those who prevent crime and make Nova Scotia communities safer with the Minister’s Award for Leadership in Crime Prevention today, March 9.

The ceremony recognized 11 individuals and organizations who developed partnerships and programs that address root causes of crime, provided leadership in the community, and supported others in their efforts to make our communities safer.

“I am inspired by the depth of recipients’ commitment to bettering their communities,” said Justice Minister Diana Whalen. “They are putting their heart and soul into their work, and it’s making an impact.

“I’m always impressed by the willingness of all parties to change tactics, to try new things, and to work together to support at-risk youth and those in conflict with the law.”

This is the seventh year the awards have been handed out. This year’s winners are:

Individual Award
— Carlos Beals, senior outreach worker, Ceasefire Halifax. As a leader within Ceasefire, a violence-reduction project that saves lives, redirects high-risk youth, and strengthens community, Mr. Beals promoted teamwork, flexibility, understanding and diversity
— Jennifer Bernier, executive director, Centre for Building Resilience Through Anti-Violence Education, Halifax. Ms. Bernier is dedicated to ensuring the centre can offer free services and practical support to prevent future criminal behaviour in at-risk girls and their families

Corporate Award
— Luke MacDonald, part owner, Aerobics First, Halifax. Mr. MacDonald organizes a running and reading program in several elementary schools in at-risk communities

Youth Award
— Andrew Henneberry, student, Saint Mary’s University, and administrative assistant, RCMP, Dartmouth. Mr. Henneberry volunteers with the RCMP’s victim services program, offering emotional support, court support, case information assistance, and referrals to people impacted by crime or trauma

Community Group/Organization Award
— Tony Robinson and Ron Cheverie, civilian co-ordinators, Nova Scotia Crime Stoppers, Dartmouth. Under the leadership of Mr. Robinson and Mr. Cheverie, Nova Scotia Crime Stoppers has been an invaluable tool for concerned citizens to remain anonymous when reporting criminal activities

Policing Award
— Const. Nathan Sparks, RCMP, Guysborough. Mr. Sparks championed a hybrid hub model for youth intervention in Guysborough County, which has been instrumental in helping troubled youth before they end up in court
— Const. Mark Stevens, Halifax Regional Police. Mr. Stevens works closely with the many volunteers who operate the Demetreous Lane Community Centre, ensuring constructive information sharing built on mutual trust and respect between the police and the community
— Sheila Serfas, crime analyst, RCMP, Dartmouth. Ms. Serfas shares her expertise on crime prevention and reduction, speaking at national and international training conferences, as well as local universities

Restorative Justice/Restorative Approaches Award
— Richard Derible, staff supervisor, Halifax Regional School Board. Mr. Derible encouraged the use of restorative approaches, which foster a community of staff, teachers, students, and parents that know how to support and care about one another, in schools across Nova Scotia. His work has helped to establish Nova Scotia as a world leader in the use of restorative approaches to resolve conflict
— Const. Colin Helm, school safety resource officer, RCMP, Digby. Mr. Helm has taken an active role in promoting positive relations with African Nova Scotian and Aboriginal communities

For full bios of all the award winners, please visit

Source: Release

Time Moves Ahead This Sunday

Buildings Renamed to Honour Two Distinguished Nova Scotians