3:52 pm - Tuesday, October 22 2019
Home / News / Members Appointed to Provincial Advisory Council on Education

Members Appointed to Provincial Advisory Council on Education

NOTE: More information about each member of the Provincial Advisory Council on Education is available at https://ednet.ns.ca/PACEbios .

Twelve members were appointed today, Sept. 27, to the Provincial Advisory Council on Education. The council will be a strong voice for the needs of students, families and communities.

The advisory council will provide advice directly to the Minister of Education and Early Childhood Development and bring a regional and diverse voice to decision-making. One of the first priorities on which the department will seek advice from the council is student transportation.

“The education system is in a time of change and I know that students, educators and families will benefit from the experience and expertise that these members will bring to the council,” said Minister of Education and Early Childhood Development Zach Churchill. “I am pleased to welcome them and look forward to working closely together.”

More than 130 Nova Scotians applied for a position on the Provincial Advisory Council on Education.

The 12 appointees join representatives of three member organizations – the Conseil scolaire acadien provincial, the Council on Mi’kmaq Education and the Council on African-Canadian Education – on the 15-member advisory council. These organizations have designated seats on the council.

Council members have a broad range of experience in, and knowledge of, Nova Scotia’s education system, including teaching, working administration, and working with students with a disability. The council also reflects gender and geographic diversity.

The 15-member Provincial Advisory Council on Education includes:
— Gin Yee, Halifax County, two-year term.
— Christopher Gilham, Antigonish Co., one-year term.
— Margaret (Joan) MacDonnell, Pictou Co., one-year term.
— Brent Noiles, Cumberland Co., one-year term.
— Stephen Parsons, Cape Breton Co., one-year term.
— Maura Ryan, Kings Co., one-year term.
— Nastasya Kennedy, Kings Co., one-year term.
— Suzy Hansen, Halifax Regional Municipality, two-year term.
— Archy Beals, Halifax Regional Municipality, two-year term.
— Michael Drew, Yarmouth Co., two-year term.
— Lynn LeVatte, Cape Breton Regional Municipality, two-year term.
— Hendricka van Gurp, Lunenburg Co., two-year term.

The three member organizations with designated seats on the council include:
— Conseil scolaire acadien provincial, represented by Marcel Cottreau
— Council on Mi’kmaq Education, represented by Darren Googoo
— Council on African-Canadian Education, represented by Jocelyn Dorrington

Members will receive a $600 a year plus expenses renumeration, withthe chair receiving $800 a year plus expenses.

The standing committee on human resources approved the 12 appointees today, and they will be finalized through an Order in Council soon.

Source: Release

About Haligonia Editors

See news happening near you? Tell us. Click here to email our team.


The views and opinions expressed in this content are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of haligonia.ca.

You might also like...


Police investigating a suspicious death in Halifax

**** HRP Media Release Police investigating a death in Halifax Police are investigating a death...


How first responders assist the TSB

**** Information via Transportation Safety Board The first persons arriving at an accident site can...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *