Premier Names Cabinet Committees, Members

A new cabinet committee structure will support new government priorities, Premier Stephen McNeil announced today, Nov. 12.

Executive Council has approved the establishment of Treasury and Policy Board, Issues Committee, and Legislation Committee.

“We’re getting down to work for the people of Nova Scotia,” said Premier McNeil. “These committees will ensure that we follow through on our commitments to Nova Scotians in a strategic, co-ordinated manner.”

“Our ministers, through these committees, will be able to make sure that our policies align with budget realities, that legislation is timely and well thought out, and that issues and opportunities are dealt from a variety of perspectives, in the best interest of Nova Scotians.”

Treasury and Policy Board will develop and implement financially responsible policies, plans and strategies for the province. The board will also oversee budget preparation and spending approval. Previously, Treasury Board and Policy and Priorities were separate committees.

Diana Whalen, Minister of Finance and Treasury Board, will chair the board. Members will include Michel Samson, Minister of Economic and Rural Development and Tourism, Karen Casey, Minister of Education and Early Childhood Development, Labi Kousoulis, Minister of the Public Service Commission, and Mark Furey, Minister of Service Nova Scotia and Municipal Relations.

The Issues Committee will monitor emerging policy issues, co-ordinate significant corporate initiatives across departments, and will develop federal/provincial/territorial negotiating mandates. Mr. Kousoulis will chair this committee with the following members: Ms. Whalen; Kelly Regan, Minister of Labour and Advanced Education; Andrew Younger, Minister of Energy and Communications Nova Scotia; and Geoff MacLellan, Minister of Transportation and Infrastructure Renewal. MLAs Iain Rankin and Keith Irving will also sit on the committee.

The Legislation Committee will review all proposed legislation and recommend a legislative agenda to Executive Council. The Legislation Committee will be chaired by Mr. Samson. Members include Keith Colwell, Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries and Aquaculture, Mr. Younger, Zach Churchill, Minister of Natural Resources, and Lena Diab, Minister of Justice. MLAs Joachim Stroink and Gordon Wilson will also sit on the committee.

The premier and deputy premier are ex-officio members of all committees.

In creating this committee structure, the Economic Investment Committee and Policy and Priorities committees will cease to exist.

Amendments will be made to the Public Service Act this fall in the House of Assembly to fully implement the new committee structure.

Source: Release

Province, Federal Government Invest in Nova Scotia Entrepreneurs

Nova Scotia’s Tree for Boston Begins Journey