3:36 pm - Thursday, April 2 2020
Home / News / Premier Recognizes Excellence and Dedication in Public Service

Premier Recognizes Excellence and Dedication in Public Service


Premier Recognizes Excellence and Dedication in Public Service
Three individuals and three teams were honoured with the most prestigious government award, today, Sept. 30.

The Premier’s Award of Excellence celebrates public servants who go above and beyond in their work to deliver programs and services to Nova Scotians.

“There are dedicated public servants doing extraordinary things with their everyday work,” said Premier Stephen McNeil. “Our province is better for their efforts and it is an honour to present this award.”

The award winners are:
— the Transit Bus Service team from the Department of Community Services in partnership with Halifax Regional Municipality extended a service that offers free bus passes to now include all clients, spouses and children of the Employment Support and Income Assistance program
— Eamonn Doorly inspired youth to try new things, take risks, solve problems, respect and embrace differences and set goals through building boats with them
— Gertrude Oliver led a team to create a leading-edge electronic immunization registry to better protect the health and safety of Nova Scotians
— Harold Carroll led a cross-country committee to align areas of safety standards across the country to help businesses and people work anywhere in Canada
— the Climate Change team from the Department of Environment implemented a program to reduce Nova Scotia’s greenhouse gas emissions and keep consumer costs low
— the Service Payout team from the Public Service Commission delivered an early payout Public Service Award

Today’s corporate recognition event also included more than 300 employees receiving a Long Service Award to mark 25, 30, 35, 40, 45 and even 50 years of service.

Award winners reflect government’s commitment to public service excellence and continuous improvement, while demonstrating the courage to step into new territory to achieve their goals.

Quick Facts:
— winners for the Premier’s Award of Excellence were selected by a panel of deputy ministers
— the award was first launched in 2005, with the first inaugural ceremony held in January 2006
— recipients receive a framed certificate signed by the premier and a crystal award from NovaScotian Crystal

Additional resources:
For more information about the Premier’s Award of Excellence, this year’s recipients and their work, visit https://beta.novascotia.ca/government/public-service-commission

To read more about Nova Scotia’s electronic public health information system, visit https://novascotia.ca/news/release/?id=20170302001

To read more about the free bus pass program, visit https://novascotia.ca/news/release/?id=20171213002

To learn more about the Building Boats, Changing Lives initiative, visit https://maritimemuseum.novascotia.ca/what-see-do/building-boats-changing-lives

About Haligonia Editors

See news happening near you? Tell us. Click here to email our team.


The views and opinions expressed in this content are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of haligonia.ca.

You might also like...

Screen Shot 2020-04-02 at 3.08.29 PM

NSHA advising of potential COVID-19 exposure at Westville funeral home and Alma fire hall

NSHA Public Health is advising of potential exposure to COVID-19 on Sunday, March 15 at...

Screen Shot 2020-04-02 at 2.41.38 PM

Man Ticketed $1000 For Not Maintaining Safe Social Distance

Release: At approximately 5:15 p.m. on April 1, police issued a summary offence ticket to...