Spring Weight Restrictions Begin March 6

Spring weight restrictions come into effect for provincial roads in nine Nova Scotia counties beginning 12:01 a.m., Monday, March 6.

Restrictions begin at that time for the following counties: Annapolis, Digby, Halifax, Hants, Kings, Lunenburg, Queens, Shelburne and Yarmouth.

Restrictions for Antigonish, Cape Breton, Colchester, Cumberland, Guysborough, Inverness, Pictou, Richmond and Victoria counties will start a week later at 12:01 a.m., Monday, March 13.

Weight restrictions on heavy vehicles are necessary during the spring thaw to protect roads that are weakened by mild and wet weather. They are expected to be in place for about two months.

The department will continue to monitor road and weather conditions to determine when it is safe to remove the restrictions.

Some roads, including 100-series highways, are exempt from the restrictions. An exempt road list will be available on the Department of Justice website after March 6.

Source: Release

Municipality Implements Annual Spring Weight Restrictions

(Found) Missing woman – poli­ce seek public’s help