9:53 am - Tuesday, December 12 2017
Home / Arts / Staff Pick – Time Now for the Vinyl Cafe Story Exchange by Stuart McLean

 

2.bp.blogspot.com_-DcIejbC5bYU_UzQo3qxRQ7I_AAAAAAAAA7Y_P7lbeCvs_vc_s1600_index

Staff Pick – Time Now for the Vinyl Cafe Story Exchange by Stuart McLean

Time Now for the Vinyl Cafe Story Exchange by Stuart McLean

Listeners of Stuart McLean’s Vinyl Cafe have been asked, over the past decade, to share their stories which describe a moment in time.

They were asked to make them short and to make them real. This anthology celebrates 10 years of the Vinyl Cafe, and Stuart McLean and his producer Jess Milton selected their favourite stories for publication. They range from the profound (a deathbed marriage) to the everyday (the ritual of pancakes). There are tales of love (relationships lasting a lifetime and missed opportunities), tales of kindness (giving aid to weary travellers), and tales of outrageous  proportion (exploding outhouses).

If you are having doubt that there are kind and caring people in this world, you faith will be restored by this entertaining and difficult to put down book.

Fans of Dave and Morley will enjoy:

Revenge of the Vinyl Cafe by Stuart McLean

“The world can be a perilous place. And the seemingly friendly

world of Canada’s favourite fictional family is no different. Everyone is afraid of something: Dave, for example, is afraid of dolls, germs and Mary Turlington. Sam, on the other hand, is afraid of bees, UFOs, and “mewpilated” cows. Morley’s fears—public nudity and drop-in visits—are slightly less peculiar. It’s hard to be brave in theface of sewer monsters, deformed fish heads, abandoned car wrecks and ravenous bears, but in this brand new collection of Vinyl Cafe stories, Dave and the gang pluck up the courage to deal with all kinds of danger, both real and imagined.” publisher

And more Canadian short stories to keep you chuckling:

Not Quite the Classics by Colin Mochrie

“Borrowing from a well-known improv game, Mochrie takes the first and last lines from familiar classics and reimagines everything in between. With the same engaging humour he exhibits on stage, television, and film, he takes the reader in bizarre and hilarious new directions.” publisher

About Halifax Libraries

Welcome to The Reader, a blog from the Readers' Services staff at Halifax Public Libraries. Our goal is to create a forum for book news and related discussion among leisure readers. A place for Halifax leisure readers to interact with their library and the larger community of leisure readers.

 

The views and opinions expressed in this content are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of haligonia.ca.

http://www.thereader.ca

You might also like...

foodlab

Staff Pick: The Food Lab by J. Kenji López-Alt