Top Notch Crime Writing – the 2013 Arthur Ellis Awards Shortlist

The 2013 Arthur Ellis shortlists have been announced. These awards celebrate excellence in Canadian crime writing. And again I cannot stress how delightful “The Arthur” is!

Best First Novel

The Beggar’s Opera (M)
by Peggy Blair
Confined Space (M)
by Deryn Collier
The Dead of Winter  (M)
by Peter Kirby
A Private Man (M)
by Chris Laing

Best Novel

Trust Your Eyes (M)
by Linwood Barclay
Until the Night (M)
by Giles Blunt
The Trinity Game (M)
by Sean Chercover
The Messenger (M)
by Stephen Miller
Niceville (M)
by Carsten Stroud

Best Nonfiction

Bloody Justice: the truth behind the Bandidos Massacre at Shedden (M) by Anita Arvast

Octopus: Sam Israel, the Secret Market, and Wall Street’s wildest con  (M) by Guy Lawson

The Devil’s Cinema: the untold story behind Mark Twitchell’s kill room  (M) by Steve Lillebuen

Thieves of Bay Street: how banks, brokerages and the wealthy steal billions from Canadians (M) by Bruce Livesey

Mad Men – A Tale of Four Secretaries

Montreal…part trois