8:08 pm - Monday, February 24 2020
Home / Life / The Reader / 2009 Edgar Awards announced

2009 Edgar Awards announced

Mystery Writers of America is the premier organization for mystery writers, professionals allied to the crime writing field, aspiring crime writers, and those who are devoted to the genre. They are the sponsors of the prestigious Edgar Award

First awarded in 1955, and named after Edgar Allan Poe, these awards are presented every year by the Mystery Writers of America to honour the best in mystery fiction published in the past year.

The Grand Master Award represents the pinnacle of achievement in the mystery writing field. This prestigious and highly coveted award was established to recognize those authors who have consistently created important and high quality contributions to the mystery field. 

The 2009 Grand Masters were announced to be James Lee Burke and Sue Grafton.

The winner for best novel was “Blue Heaven” by C.J. Box.
The winner for best first novel was “The Foreigner” by Francie Lin.

For previous Edgar Award winners search the library catalogue under subject ‘Edgar Award‘.

About Haligonia.ca

See news happening near you? Tell us. Click here to email our team.


The views and opinions expressed in this content are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of haligonia.ca.

You might also like...


We’re Taking a Break!

You may have noticed it's been a while since our last...


We’re Bringing Sexy Back

With a rough tongue : femmes write porn...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *