3:30 am - Wednesday, January 17 2018
Home / News / Former Speakers Appointed Honorary Members of Executive Council

Former Speakers Appointed Honorary Members of Executive Council

Six former Speakers of the House of Assembly have been appointed honorary members of Nova Scotia’s Executive Council.

On Premier Stephen McNeil’s recommendation, Gordie Gosse, Alfie McLeod, Gerald Fogarty, Paul MacEwan, Arthur Donahoe, and George Doucet will have the privilege of using “The Honourable” before their names and the initials ECNS (Executive Council of Nova Scotia) after their names. The honour is bestowed upon them by Lt.-Gov. J.J. Grant.

“I’m so pleased to recognize the contributions of these individuals who have all played a critical role in Nova Scotia’s democracy at different points in our history,” said Premier McNeil. “They served with distinction and honour in a role that deserves the same recognition as cabinet members and leaders of the opposition.

“On behalf of all members of the legislature, I thank them for their service to Nova Scotians.”

Premier McNeil made the announcement in the House of Assembly today, Oct. 10. The appointments came into effect on Oct. 3 when they were signed by the lieutenant governor.

Source: Release

About Haligonia.ca

See news happening near you? Tell us. Click here to email our team.


The views and opinions expressed in this content are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of haligonia.ca.

You might also like...


Fire Safety During Winter Storms via the HRFE

With weather starting to look more like winter, some important storm tips provided by the...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *