Halifax Regional Police names Police Officers of the Year

Halifax Regional Police named their 2009 Police Officers of the Year yesterday evening at the Department’s Annual Awards Night.

Sergeant R. Scott MacDonald and Constables Don Jenkins, Jeannie Rankin and Matt MacGillivray of the Community Relations & Crime Prevention team share the honour of being named Police Officer of the Year for their role in organizing community events which bolster community relations and public safety.

These officers organized numerous major projects throughout the year including Police Week, Cops ’n Kids Camp, the Pixels for Pistols Gun Amnesty, CopShop, FX101.9 Toy Drive and HRP’s involvement in a number of parades in our community.

Other award recipients from the evening include:

Inspector Bill Darnbrough, Sergeant Mike Spearns and Phil Moir received Chief’s Meritorious Service Awards for displaying ongoing dedication to service, continuous professionalism, high integrity and sustained excellence in policing.

Constable Chris Marinelli, civilian employee Mickie Zinck, HRP Volunteer Gerald Ferguson (Citizens on Patrol), and Corporate Partner Henry’s Camera received Community Contribution Awards for their dedication to our community.

Jenene Cole was named the Civilian Employee of the Year.

The Detective Frank Hoskins Award for excellence in investigation went to Detective Constable Nick Pepler for the significant role he played in the investigation and resolution of four attempt homicides that occurred in 2009.

Eleven police officers and seven civilian employees who retired in 2009 were recognized for their years of service to the community.

They departed Halifax Regional Police with 525 years of combined experience.

Millrats-Rainmen Game Preview with Ian McCarthy, Manchester GM

♥ Special Valentine’s Dinner ♥