Long-service awards presented to 81 Emergency Health Service employees

Provincial release:

Eighty-one Emergency Health Services (EHS) employees with 20 or more years of service were recognized on October 4, for their commitment to keeping Nova Scotians safe.

The long-service awards, including one to 40-year employee Frank Johnston of Dartmouth, were presented at a ceremony in Halifax.

“A career in paramedicine is challenging, yet rewarding, especially when you go home at night and know that you’ve helped someone,” said Health and Wellness Minister Michelle Thompson. “Today’s award recipients are a perfect example of what it means to put the needs of others first, day in and day out. I want to thank all the award recipients for their years of service and dedication to the people of Nova Scotia.”

The recipients have a combined 1,995 years of service saving lives and providing emergency care in Nova Scotia. Employees must have at least 20 years of service and be in good standing with the College of Paramedics of Nova Scotia to qualify for the award.

“I am grateful to be receiving this recognition, and I am honoured that 40 years later I am still serving Nova Scotians. I have seen an enormous evolution in paramedicine since I started, particularly in our scope of practice, which can be seen in the clinical treatments we are now able to provide. While this has been an exciting part of the job for me, what I have enjoyed the most about the profession over the years are the many interesting people I’ve had the privilege to meet and events I’ve become involved in. This profession has given me a chance to experience many situations – some very pleasant such as defibrillating someone back to life – and others not so pleasant. But it can always be said that as a paramedic you are making a positive contribution to your community and for that I am proud.”
     – Frank Johnston, communications officer at the EHS Medical Communications Centre

Quick Facts:
— there are about 1,200 paramedics in Nova Scotia
— in 2022, the EHS communications centre received about 189,000 calls, an average of about 500 calls per day
— there are more than 200 vehicles and four aircraft in the Emergency Health Services fleet, including ambulances, patient transfer units, medical transport units, single paramedic response units, helicopters and fixed wing airplanes

Additional Resources:
Information on becoming a paramedic: https://novascotia.ca/dhw/ehs/becoming-a-paramedic.asp

The following is a list of award recipients and where they are based:

40 years:
— Franklin Johnston, Dartmouth

35 years:
— Graham McAllister, Enfield
— Michael Morton, Liverpool
— PremaBae Cooper, Dartmouth
— Richard Campbell, Dartmouth
— Shane Strong, Yarmouth

30 years:
— Craig Deveau, Halifax
— Dwayne Cameron, Dartmouth
— Glen Durant, Glace Bay
— Jack Galley, Berwick
— Jeffrey Bezanson, Amherst
— Jim McLaren, Digby
— Robin Rowsell, Bridgewater
— Shaun Head, New Waterford
— Terry Frail, Dartmouth

25 years:
— Adam MacNeil, Amherst
— Carlis Coulter, Tatamagouche
— Brian Duncan, Dartmouth
— Charles Rodgers, Middleton
— Colin Flynn, Enfield
— Darren Trenholm, New Glasgow
— David Matheson, Dartmouth
— Evan Brander, Truro
— Greg Hann, Sydney
— Gregory MacKinnon, Dartmouth
— J. Paul Bean, Bedford
— James Belanger, Dartmouth
— James Hoare, North Sydney
— Jarred Codling, Parrsboro
— Jim Wells, Truro
— John Mosher, Coldbrook
— Marion Simpson, Northside
— Mark Walker, Dartmouth
— Marsha Grist, Lunenburg
— Matthew Vaughan, New Glasgow
— Michael Coffin, Amherst
— Michael Newman, Amherst
— Natasha Ryan, Port Hawkesbury
— Nathan Smith, New Glasgow
— Nicole Jessome, North Sydney
— Nigel Gerrior, Dartmouth
— Peter Maegerlein, Berwick
— Peter Rose, Dartmouth
— Rhonda Helpard, Port Hawkesbury
— Richard Rafuse, Liverpool
— Ryan Grist, Bridgewater
— Sean Smeaton, Antigonish
— Sean Murphy, Dartmouth
— Stephen Crocker, Enfield

20 years:
— Adrian Sweet, Bridgewater
— Alexa Desaulniers, Dartmouth
— Amanda Giles-Malloy, Truro
— Andrew Williams, Shelburne
— Chad Whynot, Liverpool
— Chris Lineker, Lunenburg
— Cynthia Comeau, Meteghan
— Dana Baker, Yarmouth
— Danny Deveau, Yarmouth
— Debra Fortune, Cape Breton Highlands (Ingonish and Neils Harbour)
— DJ Walker, Northside
— Kim MacQueen, Glace Bay
— Mary-Beth Goodall, Cape Breton Highlands (Ingonish and Neils Harbour)
— Melanie Richard, Amherst
— Melissa Burrill, Dartmouth
— Mike Gillis, Port Hawkesbury
— Michael MacKenzie, Sydney
— Mike Kiley, Truro
— Pamela MacLennan, Dartmouth
— Rayna Comeau, Meteghan
— Rebecca Cameron, Dartmouth
— Robert Malley, Cape Breton Highlands (Ingonish and Neils Harbour)
— Ryan Smith, Woods Harbour
— Sabine Haggerty, Kentville
— Sandee Crooks, Dartmouth
— Stephen Steele, Sydney
— Troy Bennett, Baddeck
— William McKee, New Waterford

Man and woman face firearms charges

Betting Sites and Bookmakers: Facts About the Canadian Gambling Experience