10:47 pm - Monday, June 24 2019
Home / Archives / Bedford Beacon / Music Monday at Bedford South School

This content is from our archive. It may be outdated, inaccurate or missing media.

 

www.bedfordbeacon.com_wp-content_uploads_2009_01_bedford-south-school

Music Monday at Bedford South School

Bedford South School is located at 2 Oceanview Drive.

Music Monday is a national initiative run by the coalition for music education.

According to their website, www.musicmakesus.ca/musicmonday, Music Monday is an annual event that brings together thousands of students, musicians, parents and community members across the country to celebrate the gift of music in our lives, on the same day at the same time. The Coalition for Music Education launched Music Monday in 2005.

This is the time for students, teachers and everyone to unite with their communities to show their love of music in their schools and in their lives.

Always on the first Monday of May, this year Music Monday happens on Monday, May 2. The magic of the event is that at the same point during that day, that is, at 10 a.m. Pacific time, 11 a.m. Mountain time, 12 .m. Central time, 1 p.m. Eastern time and 2 p.m. Atlantic time, and 2:30 in Newfoundland, schools right across the country are united by one piece of music.

Much research has proven the many benefits of music education, both in school and outside school. We need to let everyone know about this research. For more information on this see www.musicmakesus.ca/educate.

Here at Bedford South this year the whole school will go out to the school field (weather permitting – if not we will crowd into the gym), and the grades 7,8 & 9 Band will play O Canada, followed by Raiders March, then the band will play and the whole school will sing the Music Monday Song Tomorrow is Coming. We want to fill the sky with music!

Source: http://www.bedfordbeacon.com/music-monday-at-bedford-south-school

About Bedford Beacon

See news happening near you? Tell us. Click here to email our team.

 

The views and opinions expressed in this content are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of haligonia.ca.

You might also like...

Our final post…

Our final post…

Benny and Reed Holmes, editor and publisher of the Bedford Beacon.

Dear friends of the Bedford Beacon,

The time has come for...

A winning team once again!

A winning team once again!

Winners once again! The U18 Tier 2 Girls Bedford Titans soccer team took home the CISL League Title and the NS Provincial title!...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *