Students Receive Respectful Citizenship Award

Creating a video that promotes belonging and acceptance, sharing experiences with Autism Spectrum Disorder with classmates, and hosting campaigns that focus on local and global issues are among the ways Nova Scotia students are making a difference in their schools and communities.

Students attended a ceremony at the Spatz Theatre in Halifax today, Feb. 24, to receive the Lieutenant Governor’s Respectful Citizenship Award. The awards ceremony also marks National Anti-Bullying Day in Canada.

Lt.-Gov. J.J. Grant presented the awards, which he began in 2013.

“This award recognizes young people who take the initiative to make positive changes and address the difficult issues facing their schools and communities,” said Lt.-Gov. Grant. “It is my hope that this award will encourage other young people, parents and educators, to undertake activities that will create safe and inclusive spaces and inspire respectful citizenship now and in the future.”

The award recognizes students who demonstrate leadership and commitment to creating safe and inclusive spaces, where bullying is not accepted and respectful, responsible relationships are promoted.

The individual recipients for 2016 are:
— Mollie Symons, Horton High School, Wolfville
— Samuel Amoako, Sydney Academy, Sydney
— Darla Langille-Schumann, West Highlands School, Amherst
— Emily Pettipas, École acadienne de Pomquet, Pomquet, Antigonish Co.
— Nikolas Sutherland, Millwood High School, Middle Sackville
— Ethan Ringer, South Queens Middle School, Liverpool
— Janine Lock, Strait Area Education Recreation Centre, Port Hawkesbury
— Rachel Creighton, Digby Regional High School, Digby
— Hogan Ingram, Armbrae Academy, Halifax
— Jacob Paul-Gould, Unama’ki Training and Education Centre, Eskasoni, Cape Breton Regional Municipality

The team recipients for 2016 are:
— Project Unify, Annapolis Valley Regional School Board
— The Sherwood Park Education Centre student body, Cape Breton Victoria Regional School Board
— The We Act Committee, Hants North Rural High School, Chignecto-Central Regional School Board
— The Sackville Heights Junior High School Film Club, Halifax Regional School Board
— Garden in the Woods Project, South Shore Regional School Board
— Eskasoni Mi’Kmaq Care / Live Different, Mi’Kmaw Kina’matnewey
— Project ARC (Action, Responsibility, Choice!), Homeschool Team, Halifax Regional Municipality

Recipients were selected by an advisory committee of representatives from the Office of the Lieutenant Governor, Department of Education and Early Childhood Development, Nova Scotia Teachers Union, Nova Scotia School Board Association, Nova Scotia Federation of Home and School Associations and La Fédération des parents acadiens de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

For more information about the recipients visit

Source: Release

Cruise Schedule is Out

RCMP Investigate Reports of Suspicious Male Driver – Eastern Passage