Treaty Day Celebrated

The importance of the treaty relationship and the achievements and leadership of Mi’kmaq elders and youth were honoured in a Treaty Day ceremony today, Oct. 1.

“Treaty Day provides an opportunity for the Mi’kmaq and other Nova Scotians to come together to celebrate the significance of the treaty relationship and to recognize the important contributions from Mi’kmaq youth and elders,” said Premier Stephen McNeil.

During the Treaty Day awards ceremony, provincial officials and Mi’kmaq representatives presented awards to elders and youth from Mi’kmaq communities across the province. The award winners for 2014 are:

Grand Chief Donald Marshall Senior Memorial Elder Award
— Bernie Francis (Membertou)
— Libby Meuse (Sipekne’katik), presented posthumously

Chief Noel Doucette Memorial Youth Achievement Award
— Arden Joseph Bernard (Eskasoni)
— Jaden Nevin MacDonald (Sipekne’katik)

Sister Dorothy Moore Educational Scholarship
— Helena Noelle Sack (Sipekne’katik)
— Shannon Marie Googoo (Waycobah)
— Jacob Gale (Eskasoni)
— Kylie Cabot (Eskasoni)

Grand Chief Donald Marshall Senior Memorial Scholarship
— Graduate: Jennifer Sylliboy (Eskasoni)
— Undergraduate: Nathan Pay (Millbrook)

“Treaty Day is an opportunity for the government of Nova Scotia to recognize the important contribution of the Mi’kmaq to the province’s history, culture and economy,” said Premier McNeil.

Treaty Day began in 1986 with the signing of a proclamation by then Grand Chief Donald Marshall Sr., and marks the beginning of Mi’kmaq History Month in Nova Scotia.

Source: Release

Cumberland County RCMP officer wins national MADD award, Amherst, N.S.

Unique Fire Safety Program Targets Youth