4:17 pm - Sunday, August 20 2017
Home / Arts / What To Read After Downton Abbey – part one

 

What To Read After Downton Abbey - part one

What To Read After Downton Abbey – part one

What To Read After Downton Abbey - part one I was enthralled by the world of Downton Abbey (M),the TV drama of the aristocratic family and their servants on the brink of dramatic events. Set in Great Britain at a fictional country estate, the story begins with the news of the sinking of the Titanic and spanning the years through World War I. And…, oh, those dresses!

You might find yourself feeling sad to be leaving Great Britain in the 1910s again. The following books can fill the emptiness left by beloved characters until the premiere of Series 3 in September 2012.

If you are interested in. . . the exploration of the effects of WWI on society
then you might like . . .

The Return of Captain John Emmett (M) by Elizabeth Speller.
Maisie Dobbs (M) mystery series by Jacqueline Winspear.

The classic portrait of upper-middle-class life in Victorian England is shown in The Forsyte Saga (M) by John Galsworthy
What To Read After Downton Abbey - part one At The Going Down of The Sun (M) by Elizabeth Darrell tells the story of three privileged brothers who enlist in the war and what the experience does to them.

George, Nicholas and Wilhelm: three Royal Cousins and the road to World War I (M) by Miranda Carter. The book is about the famous first cousins: King George V of Britain, Kaiser Wilhelm II of Germany and Tsar Nicholas II of Russia.

Source: http://www.thereader.ca/2012/04/what-to-read-after-downton-abbey-part.html

About Halifax Libraries

Welcome to The Reader, a blog from the Readers' Services staff at Halifax Public Libraries. Our goal is to create a forum for book news and related discussion among leisure readers. A place for Halifax leisure readers to interact with their library and the larger community of leisure readers.

 

The views and opinions expressed in this content are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of haligonia.ca.

http://www.thereader.ca

You might also like...

foodlab

Staff Pick: The Food Lab by J. Kenji López-Alt