1:26 am - Saturday, November 25 2017
Home / Arts / What To Read After Downton Abbey – part two

 

What To Read After Downton Abbey - part two

What To Read After Downton Abbey – part two

Here is part two of yesterday’s  
What to read after Downton Abbey post by Julia:
What To Read After Downton Abbey - part two I was enthralled by the world of DowntonAbbey (M),the TV drama of the aristocratic family and their servants on the brink of dramatic events. Set in Great Britain at a fictional country estate, the story begins with the news of the sinking of the Titanic and spanning the years through World War I. And…, oh, those dresses!

You might find yourself feeling sad to be leaving Great Britain in the 1910s again. The following books can fill the emptiness left by beloved characters until the premiere of Series 3 in September 2012.
If you want to take . . . a glimpse into the lives of the servants of the rich-and-mighty
then you can try . . .
What To Read After Downton Abbey - part two
I’ll Bring you Buttercups (M) by Elizabeth Elgin. Set during WWI, this is a story of the servants and the family they serve on a Yorkshire estate.

The House at Riverton (M), by Kate Morton. With its engrossing plot and engulfing pace, Morton’s story of a grand English home, its masters and servants, and the tragic death of a young poet should capture the attention of Downton Abbey fans”. – Library Journal.

Below Stairs by (M) Margaret Powell. “The classic kitchen maid’s memoir that inspired “Upstairs, Downstairs” and “Downton Abbey” . – Book cover
What To Read After Downton Abbey - part two Rose: my life in service to Lady Astor (M), by Rosina Harrison. This spirited account of one young Yorkshire woman’s 35 years as a maid to the infamous Lady Nancy Astor was first published in 1975 and has been reprinted to capitalize on the “Downton” craze.” – The BookPage blog.

Source: http://www.thereader.ca/2012/04/what-to-read-after-downton-abbey-part_24.html

About Halifax Libraries

Welcome to The Reader, a blog from the Readers' Services staff at Halifax Public Libraries. Our goal is to create a forum for book news and related discussion among leisure readers. A place for Halifax leisure readers to interact with their library and the larger community of leisure readers.

 

The views and opinions expressed in this content are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of haligonia.ca.

http://www.thereader.ca

You might also like...

foodlab

Staff Pick: The Food Lab by J. Kenji López-Alt